Penny University

Welcome to the next post for my food blog!

This post is really deeply etched inside my mind, as its the end of my Uni exams year 1. And so when my friend Nisa (I call her Sha la la), told us about this interesting Halal cafe which sells awesome desserts (cupcakes and cakes) called Penny University, I was like ‘this sounds great!’

And boy, was I right when I saw that the cafe was crowded at around 4pm on a Wednesday!

9f5J2d1372953110

Sounds like something fun and great to explore!

402 East Coast Road, Singapore 428997

Tue – Thu: 8:30 am – 6:00 pm
Fri: 8:30 am – 9:30 pm
Sat – Sun: 8:30 am – 10:30 pm
OukUcT1373280580
What greeted us at the counter- a simplistic view of what coffee they have! More drinks are stated at the main menu!

boXXNY1373279540

The huge spread of cakes that were so enticing! I just couldn’t wait to try!

RH0zwh1373281668

Strawberry Lemon Meringue ($7). The cake crust and its meringue tasted nice, but however, the rest of the cake was too sour for my liking. I will only eat this again when I’m super tired and need a perk-me-up dessert!

nNho7C1373282868

Cherry Pie ($8). This pie, like the lemon meringue was quite sour! The top crust was that of a pie, but again, it was too sour for my liking, and I didn’t really like how hard the whole cake texture was.

HnvGwb1373293366

Chocolate caramel pudding ($7.50). This was one of the best cake I ever had from the cafe, and I really loved how the chocolate and caramel blended so well, and doesn’t make one feel that it is too filling! The cake tasted moderately sweet, and I would give this a 5/5!

W5QI821373294399

Banoffee pie ($7). This cake have a slight tinge of toffee to the banana cream cake, which results in a stronger aromatic smell of the cake than the other cakes that we tried! This cake is thumbs-up!

Personally, I would definitely go back to Penny U, if I’m looking for a great cafe with fabulous cakes (although 2 of it was pretty disappointing, but I would head back to try their other cakes), and of course, how can one forget about their cupcakes?

On the day that I went, the owner from Fluff Bakery had something on, and so cupcakes weren’t delivered! Felt so disappointed, as I heard ravings for their Nutella Red Velvet cupcakes! But its alright, as I definitely know I will be heading back again!

And in case you are wondering, Fluff Bakery delivers to Penny U, at around 830-9am and at 12pm. However, it is better to check their instagram the day before, to avoid disappointments!

This is their instagram link: http://web.stagram.com/n/fluffbakery

Soon after, we headed to this coffee shop called Tang Tea House @ Simpang Bedok.

357 Bedok Rd, Singapore 469545
Monday to Sundays: 11am-4am

A place for the East side people, if you are feeling hungry and its way past midnight!

This coffee shop sells all Halal food and Fana said she wanted to try their dimsum!

jx2Le61373299260

Siew mai. This siew mai uses chicken which is both tender and juicy, just like how the Chinese siew mai tastes like! 🙂

WKh1X51373299041

Prawn Chee Cheong Fun. This tastes pretty plain even with the sesame seeds and light soy sauce, so I won’t advise choosing this.
DSZXbg1373299590

Har-kow. This was pretty disappointing, as the har-kow skin was too sticky, and starchy, proving that too much flour was used when preparing this dish.

SMKKqJ1373299928

Xiao Long Bao. Their xiao long bao tasted exactly like the Chinese ones, and the juice which was hidden in the xiao long bao would be even nicer if it was piping hot!

And so.. that completes my food exploration in the East for a day! Glad that we managed to explore a few places that were not too bad!

With that, please look out for my next post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

